top of page
  • Writer's pictureCWBA

Confetti! Winter 2020

Updated: May 11, 2020

Bench Strength

  • Christina Gomez was appointed to the Colorado Court of Appeals.

  • Laurie Dean was appointed district court judge in the Eighth Judicial District.

  • Lindsay VanGilder was appointed district court judge in the First Judicial District.

  • Kimberly Schutt was appointed district court judge in the Nineteenth Judicial District.

  • Frances Johnson was appointed district court judge in the Fourth Judicial District.

On the Move

  • CWBA board member Anna-Liisa Mullis became a partner at Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP.

  • Jennifer Allen and Tess Hand-Bender became partners with Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP.

  • Ellen Giarratana joined Rathod Mohamedbhai LLC.

  • Karen Hen joined Parker Lipman LLP.

  • Molly Kokesh and Sarah Rice Carlson joined the Trial Department at Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP.

  • Erica Montague joined the Special Districts Group at Spencer Fane LLP.

  • Andrea Hicks joined the Commercial Litigation Group at Snell & Wilmer.

  • Kendra Snyder joined Hall Estill as an associate.

  • Kimberly Brunelle Willis joined the commercial litigation practice at Holland & Hart as of counsel.

  • Kate Sanford joined the Natural Resources Department at Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP.

  • Elisabeth Hutchinson joined Shook, Hardy & Bacon.

  • Angela Vichick joined Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie.

You Were Recognized

  • Theresa Wardon Benz was awarded the 2019 Richard Marden Davis Award, an award given “to a Denver lawyer who is 40 years old or younger and combines excellence as a lawyer with civic, cultural, educational, and charitable leadership.”

  • Meshach Rhoades and Meranda Vieyra were honored at the 2020 Colorado Hispanic Bar Association banquet.

  • Elizabeth Meck was honored at the Denver Foundation’s Philanthropic Leadership Awards.

  • Sonia Anderson, Nicole Godfrey, Ruchi Kapoor, and Laura Wolf were finalists for the CBA YLD Gary L. McPherson Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award.

  • Maureen Witt was inducted into the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, the world’s most prestigious organization of trial lawyers.

  • Ryann Peyton was awarded the American Bar Association’s Rosner & Rosner Young Lawyer Professionalism Award.

  • Ruchi Kapoor won first place in the Non-fiction category in the Denver Bar Association’s Arts and Literature Contest for “The Rizzo Diaries.”

Leading the Way

  • Abeer Abu Judeh was featured as a “rule breaker” by Business Insider.

  • Ariel DeFazio, Cara Nord, Christina Gomez, Danaé Woody, Gina Glockner, Halleh Omidi, Jennifer Chamberlain, Hon. Melina Hernandez, and Hon. Susan Blanco were accepted to the 2020 COBALT class.

  • Katharine Lum was elected to the CBA Family Law Section Executive Council.

  • Rebecca Watson was selected president of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation.

  • Phi-Hang Tran was elected to a second term as president/director of Women in eDiscovery’s Denver Chapter.

  • Liz Hutchinson and Kelly Page are members of the DBA YLD Council.

  • Jenny Carman coauthored (with David Furman, Kristin Marburg, and Claire Collins) “ICWA on Appeal: New Challenges and New Approaches” for the January issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Amanda Milgrom wrote “Navigating the Web of CBD Regulations: How to Assist Clients” for the December issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Ryann Peyton coauthored (with Marian Lee) “One-on-One Professional Development: Mentoring and Coaching in the Legal Profession” for the October issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • CWBA President Sarah Parady and Charlotte Sweeney co-authored (with Bill Berger) “Colorado’s Equal Pay for Equal Work Act: What Employment Counsel Need to Know” for the November issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Katharine Lum wrote “Leap of Faith: Retiring While Paying Spousal Maintenance” for the October issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

70 views0 comments


bottom of page