top of page
  • Writer's pictureCWBA

Confetti: Spring 2021

Updated: May 7, 2021

Bench Strength

  • Teri Vasquez was appointed to the 17th Judicial District Court.

  • Kelly Waidler was appointed to the Douglas County Court.

  • Amanda DeWick was appointed to the Broomfield County Court.

  • Rebekah Watada was appointed as a relief judge for the City of Aurora.

  • Dea Lindsey was appointed to the 20th Judicial District Court.

On the Move

  • Kendra Yates joined Colorado Bar Association CLE as a program attorney.

  • Sarah Kroll joined the Harris Law Firm as an associate.

  • Emily Miller joined Nathan Dumm & Mayer, P.C. as an associate.

  • Katy Ellis was promoted to partner at the Harris Law Firm.

  • Amy Jones joined Ireland Stapleton as an associate.

  • Marika Rietsema Ball joined Jones & Keller as an associate.

  • Hon. Emily Anderson joined the Judicial Arbiter Group.

  • Joanne Morando joined Wells Family Law, PC as an associate.

  • Tia Zavaras founded WZW Family Law with Emily Warren and Carolyn Witkus.

  • Natalie Simpson became a partner of Polidori, Franklin, Monahan & Beattie L.L.C.

  • Stephanie Losching joined Nixon Shefrin Ogburn Drew, P.C. as an associate.

  • Kristin Arthur, Jessica Dangoia-Crandall, and Kelsey Johnson joined Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP as associates.

  • Rachel Yeates was named a partner of Moye White LLP.

  • CWBA Board Member and Publications Committee Co-Chair Veronique Van Gheem joined the Boulder City Attorney’s Office.

  • CWBA Board Member Ruchi Kapoor has launched her own new firm: Kapoor Law + Policy, LLC.

  • Kristin Arthur joined Davis Graham & Stubbs, LLP.

  • Jenny Lake joined the U.S. Attorney’s Office.

  • Courtney Sommer joined the Colorado Attorney Mentoring Program as its new Education & Outreach Staff Attorney.

You Were Recognized

  • Laura Wolf was named Gary McPherson Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year.

  • Christine Hernández received the Colorado Hispanic Bar Association’s 2020 Chris Miranda Outstanding Hispanic Lawyer Award.

  • Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck was recognized with the Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce’s Champion of Change Award for Innovation. The awards focus on recognizing organizations of various sizes that are actively and strategically advancing women in business through their commitment to creating inclusive, supportive, and empowering cultures.

  • Carolyn Fairless was awarded CU Law’s Distinguished Achievement—Private Practice Award for 2021.

  • CWBA Board Member Allison Gambill was selected as a Top 5 Young Professional for ColoradoBiz’s 11th annual Top 25 Most Influential Young Professionals.

  • Patrick McRorie was honored by ColoradoBiz for its 11th annual Top 25 Most Influential Young Professionals.

  • Hon. Christine Arguello received the Wiley Daniel Lifetime Achievement Award from the Center for Legal Inclusiveness.

Leading the Way

  • Angela McGraw is the new secretary of the Colorado chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

  • Franz Hardy is on the oversight team for Gordon & Rees’s new Leadership Equality and Diversity Program (LEAD) as part of the firm’s ongoing commitment to recruit, retain, and promote female and diverse attorneys.

  • Brittany Kauffman and Brooke Meyer wrote “New Pandemic Discovery Protocols for Business Interruption Insurance Litigation” for the January 2021 issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Paige Mackey Murray wrote “Disposition of Pre-Embryos upon Dissolution of Marriage in Colorado” for the February 2021 issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Ryann Peyton wrote “Anti-Racist Mentorship: Turning Good Intentions into Meaningful Change” for the March 2021 issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Mallory Revel wrote “Profiles in Success: A Conversation with Judge Mariana Vielma” for the March 2021 issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • Hon. Nina Wang, Hon. Adam Espinosa, and Hon. Kelley Southerland coauthored (with Michael Houlberg) “Judicial Officers and Self-Represented Litigants: Tools for Working Together” for the April 2021 issue of the Colorado Lawyer.

  • The CWBA is a finalist for the Center for Legal Inclusiveness' Inclusiveness@Work Award. In addition, CWBA Board member Deborah Yim and CWBA member Meranda Vieyra are finalist for the CLI's individual Inclusiveness@Work Award. The winners will be announced tomorrow night at the virtual Ball for All. Join to support and celebrate the finalist!


  • CWBA Board Member Hannah Westmont welcomed daughter Riley on February 21.

140 views0 comments


bottom of page